Manual / Using Conseal Server / Working with Devices

This is the default home page for users who do not have administrative control over all devices. The left hand side shows a list of devices which have either been Consealed by the user or shared with them. Each device can be clicked for control. The right hand side shows an overview of the device's status and offers control over it.

The sections are as follows:

Recent History

This shows an overview of who last accessed the device, and when, and whether they were successful in unlocking it. For a full detailed audit including, for example, much further detail on the computer used, click View history in detail.

Self Destruct

Using Conseal, devices which are lost or stolen can be rendered secure through self destruction. A device which is self destructed cannot be unlocked by anyone and furthermore when an unlock attempt is made, the contents of the device will be securely and permanently wiped.

The Self Destruct section indicates if a device has been self destructed, or if not, offers the opportunity to do so. To self destruct the device, click Self destruct device which will take you to the self destruct page.

Note: Self destruction is permanent. Once a device has been self destructed there is no way to retrieve the information on it.

Temporary Block

If a device is suspected to have been lost, all access attempts to it can be blocked, rendering it temporarily impossible to access its contents. Once the device is recovered the temporary block can be revoked; or, if it is discovered to be in the wrong hands, it can be permanently self destructed.

When a device is temporarily blocked, all access attempts are still logged and alerts will still function, allowing a user to see if the device has fallen into the wrong hands.

To temporarily block access to a device, click block access.

Access Control

Conseal allows device administrators to specify a comprehensive set of rules defining who can use a device, where, and on what computer. The Access Control section shows how many rules have been configured. To add or remove a rule, click Configure access which will take you to the Access Control page.

Trusted Computers

Devices can be unlocked on computers even when no Internet access is available. This is achieved by certifying a computer, making it trusted. Individual computers are certified separately for each device that they are able to unlock without Internet access. For more information on trusted computers, see Conseal concepts: trusted computers.

This section shows how many computers have been trusted for this device. To manage or revoke trusted computer status, click Configure trusted computers. To trust a new computer, see Conseal concepts: trusted computers.

Alerting

Conseal Server can provide email alerts when a Consealed device is used. This provides a timely warning should the device have fallen into the wrong hands without the owner's knowledge, allowing remedial action to be taken before becomes too late.

Note: Alerts are personal to each Conseal Server user. Two different users with access to the device can each create different alerts sent to different email addresses. One user's alerts will not be visible to other users.

This secion provides an overview of alerts for your user account. To create or modify alerts, click Configure alerting which will take you to the Alerting page.

Sharing

Device owners and administrators can allow other users control over their device. They can allow any user control over any or all of the preceeding sections.

This section shows the device owner (the person who originally Consealed the device) and how many other users the device is shared with.

Note that administrators and users with the "device administration" privilege have full and complete control over all devices. Devices do not need to be explicitly shared with them.

To share the device or to revoke a user's privileges, click the Configure sharing link. This takes you to the Sharing page.

Un-Conseal

Conseal protection can be removed from a device. This blocks all further access to the Consealed data and frees up the license so it can be used elsewhere. The device can then be safely formatted.

Contents

Frequently Asked Questions

Installation

Using Conseal Server

Conseal Server Concepts